What an awesome word

November 16, 2008 at 12:51 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

I am a teacher in the Watts district of Los Angeles

Yesterda during my confrence period I was out walking the track in a rare chance to get some excercise and sunlight.

As I was walking I heard somebody yell out “Faggot. Mr. Z Faggot. Gay teacher in the Green shirt. Faggot”.

To make a long story short I am sure it was one of my students who has constantly baited me about being gay.

I spoke with my principal about this. I told her I want this kid out of my class.

But after speaking to one co-worker, my mom, by boyfriend and my best friend. I feel that this kid should at least be suspended.

Him yelling “faggot” at me is not different than if he had yelled “nig___” at an African-American teacher.

I am angry. And I am sick of this shit.

I have already lived through being picked on by teenagers for being gay. I am not a little boy anymore. I am a 31 year old gay man and I know what legal rights I have and I will explore those if necessary.

For those idiots who voted yes on Prop 8 because gay people haven’t suffered discrimination. Try living my life.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. The U.S. government crossed a VERY serious line with PROP 8.

    This “proposition” threatened children’s sense of safety and belongingness in California. Children’s safety.

    Regardless of THIS particular fight, there are way too many fights on way too many fronts for us to conquer piecemeal. The Time is Now – DRAW A NEW LINE in the sand and demand from President Obama and our representatives FULL EQUALITY.

    Equality Is Simple When You Simply Include Everybody.

    What? Not enough detail for the lawyers?

    OK, we can list repealing DOMA, repealing DADT, include transgender in the ENDA Bill, allow adoption of abandoned children, equality in immigration
    issues, recognize our hate crimes as such, equal family/children rights……….whew! See what I mean?

    We are EQUAL SOULS in HUMAN BODIES. Could we please STOP discriminating due to the genitalia attached? Plumbing will determine each civil right?! Any separation from the pack is ultimately due to gender (and/or gender roles & stereotyping), and that is SEXISM. I cannot marry Bob
    because I am the “wrong” gender; if I were a woman I could marry Bob. SEXISM.

    And I cannot stress ENOUGH how my own suffering from Marriage Inequality is NOT the reason for wanting or needing equality. I am not something to focus on. But my story, and the stories of countless other Americans desperately need to be addressed in this civil rights struggle. Marriage laws were put in place many years ago in order to PROTECT individuals and their FAMILIES; if they were NOT necessary they would not exist (for heterosexuals). When these laws are NOT in place for ALL OF US, horrible, horrible suffering occurs. My WEBSITE has many examples.

    So Americans want to continue denying us what they have already deemed as essential. And many people want us to WAIT…2….5……10…….20……..30 YEARS, depending on the “civil right”, for what WAS and IS our birthright.

    I personally have a HUGE problem with that. I cannot wait. I will not wait.

    Will you join me on Wednesday, April 15th, 2009, and help me inform the government that WE are eager to be included in the federal tax base as soon as THEY include us in society’s laws? My 5-year-old students could understand this concept:

    EQUAL = EQUAL

    As Americans can’t we agree that there are MANY other important issues to address (like the Economy, Education, Health Care, Poverty & Homelessness, Iraq/Afghanistan…all of these are related), and solving THOSE problems is more urgent than having “Equality Issues” TIE UP THE COURTS for another 30+ years? We will NOT go away.

    You keep procreating; we keep popping out. Sorry.

    Our representatives have spent years inventing 4-letter words (DOMA, DADT) to restrict us, deny us, demoralize us, and harm our beloved families and children. Enough is enough.

    NO MORE. NO MORE.

    ==================================
    The National Equality Tax Protest
    – Wednesday, April 15th, 2009 –
    ==================================

  2. That sucks. Unfortunately the more things change the more they stay the same. Try not to let it get you down.


Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.